OCAPDD / AOCPDI Open Hands Logo
 


Ottawa-Carleton Association for


Persons with Developmental Disabilities (OCAPDD)
A A   Franšais

Back to About Us

Core Values

Values guide implementation of an organization's Mission. OCAPDD's values are based on the following beliefs.

  • OCAPDD believes in the dignity of individuals living with a developmental disability, as evidenced by the fact that: they can communicate; they can socialize; they can use public and community services; they can make responsible decisions; they can accept responsibilities; they can get hired; they can choose and realize personal goals; and, they can exercise their rights and responsibilities as Canadian Citizens.
  • OCAPDD believes that person centered planning empowers individuals with a disability label. In using this approach staff focus on clients and their needs by putting them in charge, when possible, of defining the direction for their lives.
  • OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should live in a respectful environment, as evidenced by the fact that: they live free from embarrassment, ridicule, abuse and harassment; there is respect for their personal choice within the constraints of their living and working environment; they have opportunity for privacy; confidentiality is maintained and, there is support for their possession of personal property.
  • OCAPDD believes in family involvement as individuals with developmental disabilities benefit when family members and support staff work together to support a disabled individual's decision making process.
  • OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should live in a safe environment, as evidenced by the fact that: they live in safe living arrangements; they live free from abuse; they have adequate protection for severe climatic conditions; and, there is an absence of accidents in their environment.
  •  OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should have / live healthy lifestyles (both physical, social and mental health), as evidenced by the fact that: they have involvement in disease prevention; they have involvement in recreation and exercise; they have a healthy diet; they have adequate personal hygiene; they have adequate access to health professionals; they have freedom from self-injurious behaviours; they make informed decisions about substance use (alcohol, drugs); they make informed decisions about relationships in the community; they have positive self-esteem; they are connected to natural support networks; and, there is respite for their family.
  • OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should have secure lives and equitable access to employment, financial security and secure housing.
  • OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should have equitable lives and that society recognizes the need to provide the following, as evidenced by the fact that: they can achieve the maximum of their potential; they have equitable access to specialized services; they have equitable access to general and community services; they have equitable access to transportation; they have equitable access to public education; they have equitable access to public funding; and, they receive services in the official language of their choice.
  • OCAPDD believes that individuals living with a developmental disability should receive a level of support and service which is based on a standard of excellence, as evidenced through all employees and volunteers by: continuous learning; professionalism; integrity; accountability; and, commitment to OCAPDD's stated Vision Statement and Core Values.
  • OCAPDD believes that it has a fiduciary responsibility to its funders, as evidenced by: its responsibility to handle it finances in a trustworthy manner; and, managing towards achieving a balanced budget each fiscal year
  • OCAPDD believes that collaboration with relevant groups generates ideas and solutions that ultimately benefit individuals with disabilities and their families. We are committed to sharing information and resources, giving and receiving constructive feedback, and listening with open minds.
  • OCAPDD believes in client support and a workplace for staff that respects race, colour, age, sex, sexual orientation, disability, or national ancestry; and works to eliminate or prevent such discrimination






Current Issues and Topics:

OASIS Bill 148 Submissions


Up arrow
Contact Us Day Programs Mission and Vision Resources
Community Partners
City of Ottawa
OC Transpo
Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.

OCAPDD / AOCPDI Open Hands Logo
 


L’Association d’Ottawa-Carleton pour


personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle (AOCPDI)
A A   English

Retourner à Qui sommes nous

Valeurs fondamentales

Les valeurs guident la mise en œuvre de la mission d'une organisation. Les valeurs de l'AOCPDI sont fondées sur les convictions suivantes.

 

  • L'AOCPDI croit en la dignité des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, comme en démontre le fait qu'elles peuvent communiquer, socialiser, utiliser les services publics et communautaires, prendre des décisions responsables, accepter des responsabilités, se faire embaucher, choisir et réaliser des objectifs personnels et exercer leurs droits et leurs responsabilités en tant que citoyennes canadiennes.
  • L'AOCPDI croit que la planification centrée sur la personne responsabilise les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. En utilisant cette approche, le personnel se concentre sur les clients et leurs besoins en leur donnant la charge, si possible, de diriger la direction de leur vie.
  • L' AOCPDI croit que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle doivent vivre dans un environnement respectueux, comme en témoigne le fait qu'elles vivent à l'abri de l'embarras, des moqueries, des abus et du harcèlement; que leurs choix personnels sont respectés dans les limites de leur environnement de vie et de travail; qu'elles ont la possibilité d'avoir une vie privée; que la confidentialité est maintenue et que la possession de leurs biens personnels est encouragée.
  • L' AOCPDI croit en l'implication des familles, car les personnes affectées d'une déficience de développement bénéficient de la collaboration des membres de la famille et du personnel de soutien pour appuyer le processus de prise de décision de la personne affectée d'une déficience.
  • L' AOCPDI estime que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle doivent vivre dans un environnement sûr, comme en témoigne le fait qu'elles vivent dans des conditions de vie sûres, qu'elles sont à l'abri des abus, qu'elles bénéficient d'une protection adéquate contre les conditions climatiques sévères et qu'il n'y a pas d'accidents dans leur environnement.
  • L' AOCPDI croit que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle devraient avoir / vivre des modes de vie sains (santé physique, sociale et mentale), comme en témoigne le fait que: elles sont impliquées dans la prévention des maladies; elles sont impliquées dans les loisirs et l'exercice physique; elles ont une alimentation saine; elles ont une hygiène personnelle adéquate; elles ont un accès adéquat aux professionnels de la santé ; elles sont libres de s'automutiler; elles prennent des décisions éclairées concernant la consommation de substances (alcool, drogues); elles prennent des décisions éclairées concernant les relations dans la communauté; elles ont une estime de soi positive; elles sont connectées à des réseaux de soutien naturel; et, il y a des périodes de répit pour leur famille.
  • L' AOCPDI croit que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle doivent avoir une vie sûre et un accès équitable à l'emploi, à la sécurité financière et à un logement sûr.
  • L' AOCPDI croit que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle devraient avoir une vie équitable et que la société reconnaît la nécessité de leur fournir ce qui suit, comme en témoigne le fait qu'elles peuvent réaliser le maximum de leur potentiel, qu'elles ont un accès équitable aux services spécialisés, qu'elles ont un accès équitable aux services généraux et communautaires, qu'elles ont un accès équitable à l'éducation publique, qu'elles ont un accès équitable au financement public et qu'elles reçoivent des services dans la langue officielle de leur choix.
  • L' AOCPDI estime que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle doivent bénéficier d'un niveau de soutien et de service fondé sur une norme d'excellence, comme en témoignent tous les employés et bénévoles: apprentissage continu, professionnalisme, intégrité, responsabilité et engagement à l'égard de la déclaration de vision et des valeurs fondamentales de l' AOCPDI.
  • L' AOCPDI croit qu'il a une responsabilité fiduciaire envers ses bailleurs de fonds, comme en témoignent: sa responsabilité de gérer ses finances d'une manière digne de confiance; et sa gestion en vue d'atteindre un budget équilibré chaque année fiscale.
  • L' AOCPDI estime que la collaboration avec les groupes concernés génère des idées et des solutions qui, en fin de compte, profitent aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et à leurs familles. Nous nous engageons à partager les informations et les ressources, à donner et à recevoir des commentaires constructifs et à écouter avec un esprit ouvert.
  • L' AOCPDI croit au soutien des clients et à un lieu de travail pour le personnel qui respecte la race, la couleur, l'âge, le sexe, l'orientation sexuelle, le handicap ou l'ascendance nationale, et s'efforce d'éliminer ou de prévenir de telles discriminations.







Current Issues and Topics:

OASIS Bill 148 Submissions


Up arrow
Liens Mission et Vision Nos coordonnées Services récréatifs
Community Partners
OC Transpo
Ville d'Ottawa
Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.