OCAPDD / AOCPDI Open Hands Logo
 


Ottawa-Carleton Association for


Persons with Developmental Disabilities (OCAPDD)
A A   Franšais

Back to Supports and Services

Silver Spring Farm

Through the Years...
Silver Spring Farm of Ottawa, Ontario

For a quarter of a century, children, youth and adults have made outings to picturesque Silver Spring Farm, located in the west end of Ottawa at the intersection of Richmond and Baseline Roads. There, through the auspices of the Ottawa-Carleton Association for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (OCAPDD), they have participated in activities and fundraising efforts supporting persons with developmental disabilities.
Silver Spring Farm claims a history all its own. Prior to becoming part of Ottawa-Carleton's Greenbelt through government expropriation in the 1960s, Silver Spring Farm was owned by a Dr. Moffat and operated as a major dairy farm. Thereafter, when OCAPDD entered into a long-term lease with the National Capital Commission for this piece of Greenbelt property, Moffat House, the original stone home and residence of Dr. Moffat and his family, became one of the first residences for OCAPDD clients. Since that time, two additional residences, Campbell House and Charette House, have been built on the property.

In the early days of the farm's operation by OCAPDD, the stables in the horse barn were rented out for riding school activities. Many visitors today still recall fondly their equestrian outings at Silver Spring Farm. Visits to the goats were reportedly also a highlight!

A tree nursery, later replaced by a greenhouse project, continued onsite until 1995. OCAPDD clients took great pride in actively participating in the growing of bedding plants and poinsettias. Silver Spring Farm plants had a wonderful reputation throughout the community, and no Christmas season was complete without a visit to buy a beautiful poinsettia. In the summers, OCAPDD clients sold corn and other vegetables at the roadside stand.

Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, spring water was also sold at the roadside. It was reputed to be the best-tasting water in the region, according to an Ottawa Citizen article in July 1982.

In 1996, a new project was begun. This initiative, which involved the growing of garlic, was one that would require much more volunteer support than past projects, and help was enlisted from the local community. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has willingly provided a significant portion of the volunteers and equipment since that time, helping with the garlic, and later the squash, pumpkin, gourd and red onion crops. This volunteer base has further expanded through the support of members of the Ottawa-Carleton community. OCAPDD clients also play an active role in these activities in specific ways, such as separating the garlic cloves for fall planting and assisting with parts of the gardening, harvesting and planting activities.

From dairy farming to horseback riding, bedding plants and fresh spring water, and now boasting bountiful crops of garlic, squash, pumpkins and onions, this special property has made a unique contribution to the Ottawa-Carleton community throughout its history. While the nature of its role has evolved over the years, Silver Spring Farm remains a true Ottawa landmark in its support of persons with developmental disabilities. 

Location, Produce and Hours of Operation

Silver Spring Farm is located in West End Ottawa at 1701 Robertson Road, Nepean, at the corner of Baseline Road and Robertson Road (2kms from Bayshore Shopping Centre).

For available produce and hours of operation call (613) 569-8993, extension 409.

For volunteer opportunities, please click here or call (613) 569-8993, extension 243. 







Current Issues and Topics:

OASIS Bill 148 Submissions


Up arrow
Contact Us Day Programs Mission and Vision Resources
Community Partners
City of Ottawa
OC Transpo
Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.

OCAPDD / AOCPDI Open Hands Logo
 


L’Association d’Ottawa-Carleton pour


personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle (AOCPDI)
A A   English

Retourner à Services

La ferme Silver Spring

Au fil des ans…
La ferme Silver Spring d'Ottawa, Ontario

Depuis vingt-cinq ans, des enfants, des jeunes et des adultes visitent la ferme pittoresque Silver Spring, située dans l'Ouest d'Ottawa à l'intersection des chemins Richmond et Baseline. Là, sous la bienveillance de l'Association d'Ottawa-Carleton pour personne ayant une déficience intellectuelle (AOCPDI), ils ont l'occasion de participer à des activités et à des campagnes de financement visant à aider les bénéficiaires de l'AOCPDI..

L'histoire de la ferme Silver Spring en est une tout à fait unique. Avant d'être intégrée à la Ceinture verte d'Ottawa par le gouvernement au cours des années 60, elle était une ferme laitière importante appartenant à un certain Dr Moffatt. Après l'obtention d'un bail par lequel la Commission de la capitale nationale cédait à l'AOCPDI cette propriété de la Ceinture verte, l'ancienne maison de pierre du Dr Moffatt et de sa famille est devenue l'une des premières résidences pour clients de l'Association. Depuis, deux autres résidences, les maisons Campbell et Charrette, ont été érigées sur les lieux.

Pendant les premiers temps suivant l'acquisition de la ferme, l'AOCPDI louait l'écurie pour des cours d'équitation. Un grand nombre de visiteurs gardent encore le souvenir de leurs excursions à cheval à la ferme Silver Spring. Il paraît que les chèvres figuraient aussi parmi les attraits

Jusqu'en 1995, la ferme comportait une pépinière qui fut éventuellement remplacée par une serre. Les clients de l'AOCPDI étaient fiers de contribuer ardemment à la culture de plantes de garnitures et de poinsettias. La ferme Silver Spring jouissait d'une grande réputation dans la communauté, et le Temps des Fêtes n'était pas complet sans que l'on s'y rende pour acheter une jolie poinsettia. À l'été, les clients de l'AOCPDI vendaient du maïs et d'autres légumes dans un kiosque au bord de la route.

Pendant les années 80 et 90, on vendait aussi au bord de la route, de l'eau de source. Selon un article qui paraissait dans l'Ottawa Citizen en juillet 1982, il s'agissait de la meilleure eau de la région.

Un nouveau projet commença en 1996. Cette initiative, qui visait à cultiver l'ail, allait exiger un apport bénévole beaucoup plus considérable que les projets précédents; on a donc recherché de l'aide dans la communauté. Depuis, l'Église mormone offre un appui important sur le plan du personnel et de l'équipement pour rendre possible la culture non seulement de l'ail, mais aussi des courges, des citrouilles, des gourdes et de l'oignon rouge. L'action bénévole continue de grandir grâce à l'aide des membres de la communauté d'Ottawa. Les clients de l'AOCPDI entreprennent des tâches importantes telles que séparer les gousses d'ail pour la plantation d'automne et participer aux activités de jardinage, de récolte et de plantation.

De l'élevage laitier à l'équitation, en passant par les plantes de garniture et l'eau de source, pour enfin offrir de merveilleuses récoltes d'ail, de courges, de citrouilles et d'oignons, cette propriété extraordinaire constitue depuis ses débuts une contribution inégalable à la communauté d'Ottawa. Bien que son rôle ait changé à travers les années, la ferme Silver Spring demeure un centre d'attraction dans la région d'Ottawa grâce au soutien qu'elle apporte aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

 

Lieu, produit et heures d'ouvertures

La ferme Silver Spring est situé dans le secteur ouest d'Ottawa au 1701, chemin Robertson à Nepean au coin du chemin Baseline et Robertson (2 kilomètres du Centre d'achat Bayshore).

Pour connaître les heures d'ouvertures veuillez téléphoner le (613) 569-8993, poste 409.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet du bénévolat, veuillez appeler (613) 569-8993, poste 243, ou cliquez ici.








Current Issues and Topics:

OASIS Bill 148 Submissions


Up arrow
Liens Mission et Vision Nos coordonnées Services récréatifs
Community Partners
OC Transpo
Ville d'Ottawa
Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.